Birthday Boy by David Baddiel
Publisher: Harper Collins
Genre: Middle Grade
Pages: 417

RATINGS
PLOT: 3
PACING: 4
CHARACTERS: 3
STYLE: 4
SETTING: 4

TOTAL RATING: 3.6 STARS

Birthdays. For one day a year, we feel amazing as our friends and family celebrate us for a day and make us feel special.

What if it was every day?

This is the story of Sam Green, who really, really, really loves birthdays. He loves the special breakfasts in bed. The presents. The themed parties. Blowing out the candles on his cake. Everything.

He is so excited about his 11th birthday, in fact, that he wishes it was his birthday every day.

So, at first, it’s quite exciting when his birthday happens again the next morning. And again. And again. And again…

But it’s not long before things start to go wrong. Soon, disaster strikes, threatening something Sam loves even more than birthdays.

Sometimes you have to be careful what you wish for…

A super fun and fast paced story, perfect for fans of David Walliams or other David Baddiel books, or perhaps Roald Dahl.

I listened to the audiobook and would highly recommend it. It’s read by David Baddiel himself and except for the lack of a Brummie accent I think he does it a lot of justice.

Funny, family and warm-hearted, it’s a perfect middle grade novel, if not quite as good as some of Baddiel’s other work.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s